Being back in Jakarta

It has been two months since I’m back to Jakarta and start working. Previously, since I enjoyed a very comfortable life abroad for three and half years, I sometimes wondered how it feels joining millions of other Jabodetabek-ers who commute to Jakarta every single morning and back again at night. The result? Yes, it’s a little bit tiring; but then I again realize, actually the external environment does not really matter. Being in a rush hour train does not necessarily mean that we live an uncomfortable day. I’ve seen many people, who despite being in crowded train, keep making themselves busy with reading Qur’an through their phone or listening to its recitation.

Living in Jakarta again reinforce my source of inspiration to keep working; that is to serve the people. The politicians who selfishly fight in the house of representative probably unaware that the longer they’re stuck in conflict, the deeper the pain that many poor people are feeling. Isn’t it, it is the congressman job to be partner and evaluator of government’s programs? At the very least, these things will keep me motivated to be good; to always be more capable.

Another things which make me happy being back in Jakarta (and Indonesia at large) is the dynamic of da’wah activities here. I’m so inspired and so happy to experience it again, how spirited and sincere the da’i over here to convey Allah’s swt and His messengers’ message, that is none is worthy of worship except Allah swt and that Muhammad is His messenger. Alhamdulillah, may Allah swt strengthen all of da’i’s foothold in this path.

One thing, though, that I really miss from living abroad: the nature. I am a park lover. Being in Jakarta, working five days a week and lots of other activities on weekend, I almost never have any chance to interact with nature. I firmly believe, it is nature the one that makes our heart soft. Indeed, Allah swt repeatedly direct our attention to nature in the Qur’an. Not sure when it would be, I really hope, the city could be greener and fresher for its people to be happier.

There are a lot more things to be said about being back in Jakarta. I guess for now, I need to finish drinking my morning cereal🙂

Sentral Senayan, 7.02am

One thought on “Being back in Jakarta

Leave a Reply

