AISC Taiwan 2012

Alhamdulillah, I am so grateful to be able to join an enjoyable and informative event this week. It’s called Annual Indonesian Scholar Conference (AISC) in Hsinchu, Taiwan. There are quite a lot of reflections, observations, and lessons that I got from this events. I would like to share some.

First, I found the Indonesia’s muslim society in Taiwan is really great because they can organized such international scale academic conference. I think other Indonesia’s muslim societies overseas should also conduct this kind of event.

Secondly, when Indonesian in Taiwan perform some of Indonesian dances, I was more convinced that art or culture can be a medium to promote understanding between different culture. I saw the Taiwanese, who watch the performance, were quite impressed. I think it can also be a medium of da’wah. No wonder why some Wali Songo use this cultural approach.

Thirdly, I am more convinced that a great university is really important for a nation development. I saw quite a lot of good universities in Taiwan which then support Taiwan’s economic development. Somehow, it comes to my mind, that later, in ministry of finance or BPK, I will try to be the ‘guardian’ for the education budget provision and its use.

Fourthly, one of the speaker highlighted Japanese policy after they lose in the war, that is “to revive science and technology excellence” policy. As always, I really agree with this statement. A more educated society is highly needed. However, as the Prof reminded, just education is not enough, we also need training and practice.

And lastly, I am so grateful to Allah who always help and strengthen me. I do really hope that the time that I spent there was regarded as an ibadah. So grateful also for the best presentation award. Thank you Allah,,

(to be continued)

One thought on “AISC Taiwan 2012

Leave a Reply

