Being in a Competition

Life is a a competition. I’ve heard many people complained about this statement. They argue that perceiving life as a competition would make life feel un-enjoyable and full with seriousness. Let me elaborate why I think life need to be a competition and will always be.

Firstly, whether we realizing it or not, competition will make us better. Being in a competition, someone will always try to improve his/her performance which in the end, whether (s)he win or not, will improve his overall capability. One of my professor explained why many overseas chinese and indians are more successful than their family in their home country. His answer is because these chinese and indians areexposed to a competitive world, either in US, europe, or anywhere else.

Secondly, Allah almighty, already mentioned in the qur’an that this life is a competition. Allah want to know who the best one among us. Allah said, “[He] who created death and life to test you [as to] which of you is best in deed – and He is the Exalted in Might, the Forgiving” (QS 67:2). Allah also suggested us to compete in doing good deeds. Allah said, “……, So race to [all that is] good. Wherever you may be, Allah will bring you forth [for judgement] all together. Indeed, Allah is over all things competent” (QS 2:148).

I do agree that our life need not to be a stressful life; however, I’m even more disagree if we think that this life is just to be enjoyed, whether not to pray to the God at all or doing the good thing in a slow pace. Having in mind that this is a competition, competition between us and ourselves and a competition between us and the time. In the end, we will never know when Allah will recall us to meet Him. Obviously, none of us want to be a regretful person when we meet Allah later. I do pray to Allah that me and everyone who read this writing will meet Allah with a satisfied heart, with a full of smile face.

Lastly, in term of applicability, when I was a junior high school student, I think a round 10 years ago, even though I was studying in a countryside area, I always think that I have to improve my knowledge, because I want to be on the same level of competency with the students in Java (because java is the most developed region in Indonesia). When I was studying at the university, even  though I was studying in the best university in Indonesia, I stress my mind that I have to be as smart and competent as the harvard student. believe me, all of this mind suggestion work.

Bearing in mind that we are competing in this life, will, insyaallah, make us want to do more and to improve more. So, ready to be in the race? Good luck!

One thought on “Being in a Competition

Leave a Reply

