Du’a and Desperation

One concept of God in Islam that I really like is the concept that Allah is very close to us, He knows what it is inside our heart, and His promise that if we pray to Him, then He will grant it.

As a human being who sometime just being alone and in the middle of a lot of duniawi problem, the understanding that there is Allah who knows what we are thinking is just very relieving. Allah gave many direction on how we should deal with challenges in this life. He stressed that there is no thing impossible if He want it. He also stressed that if we want to change our condition, then we have to work for it. And lastly, the concept of never give up. Allah really stressed that we may not become despair in anything in this life, there must be always solution, there must be always a way out.

In a practical way, one nasihat (advice) which I never forget from an Imam when I was studying in US is that, he said, whenever you are in a problem or feeling so desperate, just do tahajjud in the middle of the night and read surah Yasin three times and then pray, insyaallah Allah will make the problem easy for you.

Lastly, about the concept of Du’a or praying in Islam. Prophet Muhammad said that there are three possibilities after we pray to Allah. First, Allah grant it directly; Second, Allah grant it later; or Third, Allah give us pahala or reward because of it and erase our sin. Well, as an accountant, I don’t see any bad outcome from it, so why don’t we pray?

Hope we are always istiqomah (stand firmly) in this Islam way. Hope we can see and meet Allah later in His paradise.

2 thoughts on “Du’a and Desperation

  1. I would like to express my appreciation to this writer just for bailing me out of this type of incident. Just after looking through the the net and getting ideas which were not powerful, I figured my entire life was well over. Living without the presence of answers to the issues you’ve solved by means of your entire website is a serious case, as well as the kind that might have in a wrong way damaged my career if I had not encountered the blog. Your good understanding and kindness in dealing with every aspect was excellent. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I had not come upon such a thing like this. It’s possible to at this time look ahead to my future. Thank you very much for your specialized and amazing help. I will not think twice to suggest your blog post to anyone who would need direction on this topic.

Leave a Reply

