Our Role for the Earth

In qur’an, there is a story when Allah was about creating human as the khalifah or leader in the earth. Allah said to the angel, “Verily, I am going to place (mankind) generations after generations on earth.”  then the angel said, “Will You place therein those who will make mischief therein and shed blood, – while we glorify You with praises and thanks and sanctify You. Then Allâh said: “I know that which you do not know.”

I found this ayat (verse) as a very interesting verse. Angels already know what we’re going to do in the earth, that we will make mischief in this beautiful earth. And yes, it’s true, we polluted the water, air, and land, killed the endangered animal, cut down trees, and many other bad things.

I believed Allah definitely also already know about it. But the fact that Allah said “I know that which you do not know.”, give impresion to me that Allah trust us, as human being, to do a good thing in this earth.

I am so grateful to have a grandfather who taught me about philosophy of nature. With his kindness, he taught me about how we, as human being, have to nurture this earth, create balance in this world, do a good thing to all human being and all of Allah’s creation. He taught me to be nice to everyone, animals, plants, and everything.

With all of the technological advancement, we, human being, successfully ‘create’ a good species of plant, like a sweet mango, more rice in paddy, etc. I believe that this is a good thing and we have to keep doing it. But the fact that we polluting and destroying everything on the land, sea, and sky, we’ve got to stop it.

Yes, life is balance, require balance, and ‘ve got to be balanced. Let’s try to execute Allah’s trust to us, to govern this earth well.

Leave a Reply

